ACM SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award 2016

2016 ACM SIGAI Autonomous Agents Research Award winner announced here.

This award is made for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. It is intended to recognize researchers in autonomous agents whose **current work** is an important influence on the field. The award is an official ACM award, funded by an endowment created by ACM SIGAI from the proceeds of previous Autonomous Agents conferences. The recipient of the award will receive a monetary prize and a certificate, and will be invited to present a plenary talk at the AAMAS 2016 conference in Singapore.

Previous winners of the ACM SIGAI Autonomous Research Award are: Catherine Pelachaud (2015), Michael Wellman (2014), Jeff Rosenschein (2013), Moshe Tennenholtz (2012), Joe Halpern (2011), Jonathan Gratch and Stacy Marsella (2010), Manuela Veloso (2009), Yoav Shoham (2008), Sarit Kraus (2007), Michael Wooldridge (2006), Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nicholas R. Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001). For more information on the award, see the Autonomous Agents Research Award page (

How to nominate

Anyone can make a nomination. Nominations should be made by email to the chair of the award committee, Jeff Rosenschein (, and should consist of a short (< 1 page) statement that emphasizes not only the research contributions that the individual has made that merit the award but also how the individual’s **current work** is an important influence on the field.

NOTE: a candidate can only be considered for the award if they are explicitly nominated. If you believe that someone deserves the award, then NOMINATE THEM -- don't assume that somebody else will!


Important dates

15 January 2016 -- Deadline for nominations

5 February 2016 -- Announcement of 2016 winner

9-13 May 2016 -- AAMAS-2016 conference in Singapore